Book Bingo!

I came across this fun idea on my travels through the inter web. Book bingo. People make up Bingo cards featuring various types of books, and the players have to get a Bingo! (straight line across the squares, in case any of you don’t know what that is) by reading the books featured. As I’m always up for a challenge and also, as I love to read, I thought it would be fun to give it a shot. But…what bingo card to use? There are so many out there, I discovered!

But this one caught my eye, as it featured Canadian speculative fiction books. So, hey ho, why not?

speculating-canada-bingo

As you see, this came from a blog called Speculating Canada, which features works of speculative fiction written by Canadians. And as I am one of those, I thought it would be great to have a look at what some of my fellow Canadian authors are creating. Also you will note they use the same WordPress blog theme as I do, so they must have good taste, right?

In looking at what books I need to read to get my Bingo, there are several there which interest me. But as it stands right now, I think I’m going to try the middle line. Because I love urban fantasy, and also because this line includes an interview, which perhaps might be cheating a tad but as it won’t take as long to read a interview as a book, I’m all for that.

So…if any of you have any suggestions for the books on that line, let me know! I’ve got a couple ideas, but I’m happy to take others. I need a Canadian Urban Fantasy Novel, An Interview with a Canadian Author, a Canadian SF Short Story Collection, and a Canadian High Fantasy Novel.

Only three books and one interview. Should be do-able, right?

I’ll keep you posted on this as the year goes by. I would love it if anyone else wants to play along….we’ll see who can get Bingo first!


Featured photo by Chitrapa (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

 

5 thoughts on “Book Bingo!

  1. bookheathen says:

    An interview with Margaret Atwood is published in the Telegraph; I don’t know if that counts. See http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/books/10246937/Margaret-Atwood-interview.html

    Like

  2. L.A. Smith says:

    Thanks! I’ll check it out. I think it could count…although, she has written books that would normally be classified as speculative, but she doesn’t like to call them that, which irritates me no end.

    Like

  3. A.J. Sefton says:

    A bit off topic, but I love your blog posts, so:
    Congratulations! I have nominated you for the Liebster Award! See more here https://darkagesajsefton.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] awhile back I announced I would try to do a Book Bingo this year. I have failed miserably at it so far. And seeing as there are only four months left in […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

